Award 20 January 2017. ISTR New Scholars Essay Prize:

ISTR New Scholars Essay Prize: deadline for Submissions 20 January 2017

Irish Society for Theatre Research

New Scholars Prize 2017

Call for Papers

ISTR runs an annual essay competition for New Scholars. There is no set theme for this competition; rather, candidates are encouraged to submit work drawing on their current research in the area of theatre, drama or performance. New research, or essays developed from papers presented at the preceding conference are welcome. The New Scholars Prize is awarded to the best essay, judged on originality, coherence and rigour.

Essays must be between 4 000 – 6 000 words (excluding bibliography) and should not be published or submitted for publication in advance of the award announcement. They will be judged anonymously; hence, the author’s name must not appear anywhere in the essay itself. All submissions must be accompanied by a cover sheet, must be presented with attention to correct spelling and stylistics and referenced according to a standard norm (i.e. MLA or Chicago style). Candidates should submit entries in English in MS Word format to the Convenor of the Prize Committee, Dr Ondřej Pilný at

 Eligibility: A New Scholar is defined as a graduate student, post-doctoral researcher whose PhD has been completed less than three years ago, or a researcher without a PhD who has been in an academic post for less than three years. Membership of ISTR is not necessary to enter the competition, but prize winners will need to join ISTR to attend the conference where the prize will be awarded.

Deadline: 20 January 2017.

The judges for the New Scholars Prizes in 2017 are Dr Ondřej Pilný, Charles University, Prague; Dr Miriam Haughton, NUI Galway; and Dr Aoife McGrath, Queen’s University Belfast. The best three essays will be shortlisted for the Prize, and the final Guest Adjudicator will select the winner. The final adjudicator for 2017 will be Dr Cathy Leeney. Previous final adjudicators included Prof. Marvin Carlson, Prof. Helen Burke, Prof. Lionel Pilkington, Prof. Chris Morash, and Prof. Mária Kurdi.

Results of the competition will be announced at the next ISTR conference at the University of Nottingham on 28-29 April 2017. The prize-winners are expected to make their own travel and accommodation arrangements.



Leave a Reply

Uso de cookies

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.plugin cookies

Aviso de cookies